• Tittmoning
  • Tittmoning
  • Tittmoning

Castle of Tittmoning

History of the castle

Citizen of Tittmoning

The castle is located on a geographically advantageous hill, right by the "Ponlach" rift. A very deep rift to the west made the place almost inaccessible and the castle nearly indomitable. The inner ward of the castle could formerly only be reached via drawbridges from the western side and towards the town.

Region Tittmoning

The first written manuscripts about the hill come from the first half of the 12th century. A very wealthy noble lineage lived there who named themselves after the name of the town "de Titemaningen".
In 1234 the construction of the castle was vouched by Archbishop Eberhard II of Salzburg as protection against the strong Bavarian town Burghausen. The archbishop employed staff to administrate the castle, the court and the county.
Due to betrayal the town and the castle became property of Kaiser Ludwig the Bavarian in 1324 and could not be gotten back until three years later when a very high amount of 5500 Salzburg pfennigs was paid. During the following centuries extensions were made. For instance, the massive "Troadkasten" was built, and its steep, red brick roof, which was the characteristic of this particular construction, could thus be visible from afar. On the outside of the house, the strong grilles can still be seen today which were meant to protect the expensive corn of the town from possible trespassers.


Castle becomes a hunting lodge around 1615
During the salt war between Bavaria and Salzburg the castle was damaged heavily in 1611. It is presumed that Archbishop Markus Sittikus asked his master builder Santino Solari (builder of the dome in Salzburg) to reconstruct and extend the castle into a hunting lodge. 

Archbishop Johann Ernst Graf von Thun had the chapel of the castle built in 1693, which features the magnificent altar picture by Johann Michael Rottmayr. 

In the meanwhile the name 'palace' wasn't used anymore and the weir system has been called 'castle' again.


Tittmoning becomes a part of Bavaria

Due to the Napoleon wars Tittmoning firstly becomes part of Bavaria in 1810 and finally in 1816 for good. After 1000 years the affiliation with Salzburg came to an end. 

Parts of the castle as well as surrounding properties were turned private. From 1852 onwards the castle as well as the neighboring Ponlach-rift slowly have been transferred into the town's property. After various utilizations the well-fortified building has been deteriorating. 


Founding of the museum
The Historic Association moved the museum of local history from the enclosed quarters of the townhouse to the rooms of the castle that have been renovated for this purpose. The usage of the castle as a museum also secures the preservation of this ancient monument.

For the detention of prisoners of the war the museum was moved to  different location in 1940. In 1953, after the war had ended, the museum was reopened and ten years later was given legal grounds as a foundation. Since 2004 there has been a tannery-exhibition in the "Getreidekastern" (corn-storage) of the castle. The name of the foundation "Heimathaus des Rupertiwinkel" was changed to "Museum Rupertiwinkel" in 2014. 

Tittmoning close to Salzburg





For any questions we are happy to help!
sincerely
City Tittmoning

Editor responsible for the content:
1. Mayor Konrad Schupfner

City Tittmoning, Stadtplatz 1, 84529 Tittmoning, Post Office Box 11 20, 84525 Tittmoning
Tel. +49 8683 7007-0, Fax +49 8683 7007-30, info@tittmoning.de, www.tittmoning.de

• Tittmoning
  • Tittmoning
  • Tittmoning

Burg Tittmoning

Einst Sommerresidenz der Salzburger Bischöfe

Stadt Tittmoning

Auf einer geographisch günstigen Anhöhe, direkt am Ponlachgraben, thront über der Stadt die mittelalterliche Burg. Ihre strategische Lage auf dem Geländesporn und ein tiefer Halsgraben erschwerten eine Eroberung. Zusätzlich waren früher beide Burgtore nur über Zugbrücken passierbar.

Bürgerprojekte Stadt Tittmoning

1234 ist die Errichtung der Grenzburg gegen das bayerische Burghausen durch den Salzburger Erzbischof Eberhard II. urkundlich belegt. Ein erzbischöflicher Pfleger verwaltete Burg, Pfleggericht bzw. Grafschaft. Durch Verrat fielen 1324 Stadt und Burg an Kaiser Ludwig den Bayern. Sie konnten erst drei Jahre später von Erzbischof Friedrich III. für 5.500 Salzburger Pfennige zurückgekauft werden. Die Burg wurde im Laufe der Zeit noch weiter ausgebaut. So entstand um 1500 der mächtige "Troadkasten" mit seinem steilen, ziegelroten Halbwalmdach – das weithin sichtbare Charakteristikum der Anlage. An der Fassade sind noch die starken Fenstergitter zu sehen, die das wertvolle Getreide aus dem Kastenamt Tittmoning vor Unbefugten schützten.

Burg wird um 1615 Jagdschloss
Im Salzkrieg zwischen Bayern und Salzburg wird die Burg 1611 schwer beschädigt. Mit dem Wiederaufbau und dem Umbau zu einem Jagdschloss beauftragte Erbischof Markus Sittikus vermutlich seinen Baumeister Santino Solari (Erbauer des Salzburger Doms). Die Schlosskapelle, mit dem prächtigen Altarbild von Johann Michael Rottmayr, ließ 1693 Erzbischof Johann Ernst Graf von Thun errichten.
Die zwischenzeitliche Benennung als Schloss ist heute nicht mehr gebräuchlich, die Wehranlage wird wieder als Burg bezeichnet.

Tittmoning kommt zu Bayern
Als Folge der Napoleonischen Kriege endet nach rund 1000-jährigem Bestehen die Salzburger Zugehörigkeit. Erstmals 1810 und dann endgültig 1816 kam Tittmoning zu Bayern.
Allmählich gerieten Teile der Burg und dessen umliegenden Grundstücke in private Hände. Durch den Ankauf gelangte ab 1852 die Burg und der angrenzende Ponlachgraben in städtischen Besitz. Nach unterschiedlichen Nutzungen verfiel das wehrhafte Gebäude zusehends.

Museumsgründung
Das vom Historischen Verein ab 1901 beengt im Rathaus eingerichtete Heimatmuseum zieht 1911 in die eigens dafür renovierten Burgräume. Die Nutzung der Burg als Museum sichert zugleich den Erhalt dieser landesgeschichtlichen Anlage.

Auf Anweisung der Wehrmacht wurden 1940 die Museumsbestände ausgelagert und die Burg zu einem Offiziersgefangenen- und Internierungslager umfunktioniert. Nach Kriegsende erfolgte 1953 die Wiedereröffnung des Museums, das 10 Jahre später als Stiftung eine juristische Grundlage erhält. Seit 2004 ist auch eine moderne Gerbereiausstellung im Getreidekasten der Burg untergebracht. Der Stiftungsname "Heimathaus des Rupertiwinkels" wird 2014 in "Museum Rupertiwinkel" umbenannt.

Leader der Stadt Tittmoning





Für eventuelle Fragen stehen wir gerne zur Verfügung!
Herzlichst
Stadt Tittmoning

Herausgeber und verantwortlich für den Inhalt:
1. Bürgermeister Konrad Schupfner

Stadt Tittmoning, Stadtplatz 1, 84529 Tittmoning, Postfach 11 20, 84525 Tittmoning
Tel. +49 8683 7007-0, Fax +49 8683 7007-30, info@tittmoning.de, www.tittmoning.de